Rüdiger Grube


From 2016 to 2017

CER Chair

Libor Lochman

Executive Director

From 2012

CER Executive Director

Violeta Bulc

From 2015 to 2019

EU Commissioner for Transport

67 Members


B-Logistics, Eurail Group, Ukrainian Railway, ŽS Infrastructure, ŽS Passenger join CER.

CER Cargo leaves CER.

SBB CEO Andreas Meyer serves as CER Acting Chair from May to September 2016.

Voluntary Commitments

Sector Statement on Rail Freight Corridors signed by the rail sector associations (CER, CLECAT, EIM, ERFA, ERTMS Users Group, ESC, RFCs, RNE, UIP, UIRR, and UNIFE)

CER Developments

April 2016, adoption of the Commission Implementing Regulation on procedures and criteria concerning framework agreements for the allocation of rail infrastructure capacity.

May 2016, publication in the EU OJ of the Fourth Railway Package’s Technical Pillar:
- ERA Regulation (2016/796)
- Interoperability Directive (2016/797)
- Rail Safety Directive (2016/798)

June 2016, the European Railway Agency (ERA) becomes the European Union Agency for Railways.

December 2016, publication in the EU OJ of the Fourth Railway Package’s Market Pillar:
- Governance Directive (2016/2370)
- PSO Regulation (2016/2338)
- Regulation (EU) 2016/2337 repealing Regulation (EEC) No 1192/69 on common rules for the normalisation of the accounts of railway undertakings

EU Legal Developments