Aad Veenman


From 2005 to 2008

CER Chair

Johannes Ludewig

From 2001 to 2011

CER Executive Director

Jacques Barrot

From 2004 to 2007

EU Commissioner for Transport

68 Members

New members: Baltijas Ekspresis (Latvia), BRC (Bulgaria), Servtrans Invest (Romania), CTL Rail (Poland), Wiener Lokalbahnen (Austria), HRA (Hungary), TCDD (Turkey), GFR (Romania), TX Logistik (Germany), Regio Trans Brasov (Romania), BRKS (Slovakia)
In addition, due to restructuring, MÀV Cargo and MÀV-START (Hungary), CFL Cargo (Luxembourg), and SNCB/NMBS Operations (Belgium) join CER. PE MZ Infrastructure and PE MZ Tansport (Macedonia) replace RFYROM.

Voluntary commitments

European Charter for social and societal initiatives in train stations

CER Developments


Third step towards rail market opening: passenger market

  • Regulation (EC) 1371/2007 on rail passenger rights and obligations
  • Passenger liberalisation Directive 2007/58/EC amending Council Directive 91/440 and Directive 2001/14/EC
  • Train crew certification Directive 2007/59/EC

PUBLIC SERVICE REGULATION: Regulation (EC) 1370/2007 on public service obligations (PSO) repealing Council Regulations (EEC) 1191/69 and 1107/70

EU Legal Developments