Giancarlo Cimoli


From 2001 to 2004

CER Chair

Johannes Ludewig

From 2001 to 2011

CER Executive Director

Loyola de Palacio

From 1998 to 2004

EU Commissioner for Transport

34 Members

New members: LDZ (Latvia), CFR (Romania), Railion (Denmark), Railion (Netherlands), BDZ (Bulgaria), LG (Lithuania), HZ (Croatia). In addition, independent companies emerge after restructuring: ZSSK (Slovakia), ZSR (Slovakia), SZDC (Czech Republic).

SJ (Sweden) is dissolved.

CER/CCFE/GEB changes name and becomes the Community of European Railway and Infrastructure Companies

Voluntary commitments

CER/UIC/CIT Freight Quality Charter

CER Developments

MARCO POLO I: Regulation (EC) 1382/2003 on the granting of Community financial assistance to improve the environmental performance of the freight transport system

REGULATION (EC) 91/2003 on rail transport statistics

EU Legal Developments